Temples of the State, in respect of which the name of then the category of government maintained temples, the idol is recorded as Land owner in Land records, by keeping them the name of Collector is recorded as an administrator in Land Records. The responsibility of maintenance of such government-maintained temples is on the Government. Approximately there are 12000 such type of temples, in 31 districts of Madhya Pradesh. The Government is mainly responsible for the renovations and the maintenance of these temples, honorarium of priests serving in them and the construction of hospices. All these works are undertaken through Collectors, Sub-Divisional Officers and Tehsildars. A committee has been constituted for the management of the temples situated in Bhopal, Raisen and Sehore districts, and Commissioner of Bhopal Division is the Chairman of the committee. Provision of Rs. 44 Lac has been made in the Budget for the year 2008-09 for the temples of these three districts.

All arrangements for all these trusts are made under the Public Trusts Act - 1951. according to the Act, Collector is the registered trustee, but the powers have been delegated to Sub-Divisional Officer (Revenue). In connection with the complaints and grievances of these trusts, Collector is the competent authority to take action.

Special legal arrangement system has been established for all the temples of the State, which have their religious or historical or both type of special significance, which is as follows:

  • For Mahakaleshwar Temple Ujjain - Madhya Pradesh Shri Mahakaleshwar Act – 1982
  • For Salkanpur Devi Temple, District Sehore – Salkanpur Devi Act – 1956
  • For Sharda Mandir, Maihar, District Satna – Sharda Devi Temple Act – 2002
  • Madhya Pradesh Shri Ganapati Khajrana Indore Act – 2003